top of page
  • Writer's pictureChantal

DIY Roman/Gladiator Inspired Armor

Updated: Oct 30, 2017


Halloween is just around the corner and I had to share with you this Roman Costume I made for my daughter Sara. She is in Year 4 and they are studying about the Romans. Her school assignment was to make a Roman armor. They even had a competition between all Year 4 classes to see who was the best dressed. And guess what! She won and you should have seen the look on her face! (proud mama moment right there!)

I thought it was a pretty cool looking armor we made and could be used as a Halloween costume. I'm going to share with you in a few steps how easy it was to make so that you may want to make your own!


Let's start with the materials needed for this project:

  1. Felt

  2. Cardboard

  3. Paint

  4. Bead necklaces (you can easily find them at a Party Centre near you)

  5. Scissors

  6. Metal eyelets and an eyelet setting tool

  7. Glue gun

  8. Ribbon

I hand drew theses shapes on a cardboard before cutting them out with the scissors. You will need 2 identical pieces of each shape. Measure approximately the width of the cardboard armor so that the felt dress is the same size. You will also need 2 red felt skirts to go on each side of the armor. Then make vertical cuts along the dress but make sure to leave around 5cms on the the top. I chose red felt for my daughter's costume, but you can use any color you like.

The next step would be to paint the cardboard armor. I used gold and silver paint I got at Ikea (in the kids section). Once everything was dried I started putting the pieces together with my glue gun.

To finalize the body armor, I glued the shoulder pads on. Now this is when I had fun decorating t it with bead necklaces. I put some on the shoulders and one hanging across the torso. You can be creative and use something other than beads. I just happened to have some with me and thought they made the costume stand out and look amazing! Besides my daughter likes bling!

Now that I finished from the body armor, let's continue with the helmet and bracers. I used cardboard of a box of cereal for these because it's more flexible to work with. Draw & cut out similar shapes on a cardboard (as shown) then paint them the same color as the body armor if you want a matching look. Now take the metal eyelets and an eyelet setting tool, and make some holes along the bracers and one on each side of the helmet.

To form the helmet, bring the cardboard strap and glue it on each side of the helmet. Get some ribbon you have available and tie 1 ribbon in each hole. This option in optional: you can add some feathers to your helmet like I did. And your helmet is complete!

Lastly, run some ribbon threw the holes of the bracers because they will be used to shape and tighten the bracers. I've also decorated the bracers with some bead necklaces to match my daughters body armor.

Now our roman costume is complete. I'm sure your kid will absolutely love their own roman inspired armor! I hope you enjoyed this easy & fun DIY costume, just in time for Halloween!

Don't forget to follow me on Instagram @myarabianworld

Like what you see? Become a member to check out member profiles, make comments, follow posts & more...

1,302 views0 comments

Comments


  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page